top of page

Presidents Cup 2022

Updated: Sep 20, 2022

The 2022 Presidents Cup at Quail Hollow in Charlotte, North Carolina starts this week. We are sure you know what this event consists of, but in case you do not, here is a quick recap. Similar to the Ryder Cup, The Presidents Cup is held every two years. There are two 12-person teams – Team International and Team United States. Qualification for each team differs a little, but some players qualify through eligible events, and their team’s captain handpicks others. The event format is match play, with 30 matches played throughout the four-day tournament (Thursday to Sunday). Interestingly, there is no prize money at this event it’s all for the glory. Now that we got that out of the way, let us dive into some details, shall we?

Let’s start by breaking down the teams.

International Team: Captain: Trevor Immelman

Roster: Hideki Matsuyama Sungjae Im Tom Kim Corey Conners (Canadian) Mito Pereira Adam Scott Taylor Pendrith (Canadian) Sebastián Muñoz Si Woo Kim Cam Davis Christiaan Bezuidenhout K.H. Lee

United States Team: Captain – DAVIS LOVE III

Roster: Patrick Cantlay Sam Burns Justin Thomas Scottie Scheffler Xander Schauffele Tony Finau Cameron Young Billy Horschel Collin Morikawa Kevin Kisner Jordan Spieth Max Homa

Now, without being contradictory, right off the bat Team United States looks like they have the advantage. Multiple PGA Major wins on that team; however, more than fifty per cent of that team are President Cup rookies. It will be interesting to see how they perform under the pressure of the USA versus the world during singles matches on Sunday. With that being said, everyone loves a good underdog story. Even though US’s captain’s picks are not in the top 40 in the PGA, there is no better time to dial in and take control of your game, especially against some of the top players in the PGA right now on Team America.

Here is some information you may not know…

What happens if the event ends in a tie? This has only happened once in President’s cup history. If the tournament ends in a tie, both teams will share the trophy. There will be no extra holes to be played to break the tie.

Who has made the most President Cup appearances? Although Phil Mickelson is not partaking in the President’s cup this year, he has the crown for the most appearances. Mickelson has taken part in 12 teams and has the most total cup points with 32.5. You might be wondering which team has won the most. In 13 events team USA has won 11 times, International has only won once out right the second time was the tie.

The next Presidents Cup event will be taking place in Canada at the Royal Montreal Golf Club in 2024.

Tournament breakdown:

Day 1 – Foursomes

Day 2 – Four-Ball

Day 3 – Foursomes and Four-Ball

Day 4 – Singles

You have now made it to the question portion of this piece, and we want to hear your predictions:

How do you think Team International will play? Do you think there are any players that should have made the teams versus ones that did? Will we see a “team Canada” pairing of Taylor Pendrith and Cory Conners? Will there be a “monumental Moment” that will be added to the history books? Let us know what you think in the comment section below.

58 views0 comments


pointsbet banner
bottom of page